Layouts Advanced Features

Once a disk bay layout is created, there are a number of actions that can be performed to format or manipulate the layout and appearance of the disks in the KillDisk application.

Locking Disks

In order to prevent accidental deletion of important disks, KillDisk supports locking of disks. Once a disk is locked, no write operations are allowed to be performed on the drive. To do this, simply find the disk that needs to be locked and execute Lock menu command from the Edit menu..

Figure: Locking a disk to prevent accidental destruction

Locking Clone Source

Disks that are planned to be used as master copy for Disk Cloning could be marked in disk bay layout by selecting disk bay and clicking Clone Source from the Edit menu. Thus disks marked this way will be protected from accidental destruction and also will be available in list devices as source for disk cloning.

Auto Erase

Auto Erase feature designed to speed up disk wiping process in scenario when many disks must be erased with the same erase attributes with less user interaction. When disk is inserted in a bay marked as Auto Erase then disk erase procedure will start without any introduction or confirmation dialogs. However you will see 30 seconds countdown started on disk bay about to be erased and may cancel this action by selecting disk bay widget and clicking Stop button in view's toolbar or in context menu.

Figure: Enabling Auto Erase

CAUTION:
Use this feature with extreme caution — be sure that inserted disk is intended to be erased and appeared in a right bay. You will have 30 seconds to abort disk erasure.

Saving and Reverting changes

Use the Save Layout button to commit any changes to the layout to the application views.
Note: Save Layout will apply current change to the KillDisk session so the changes will be seen in the Disk Bays explorer views and even be loaded in upon future application launch. These changes will not affect the .dbl file, however, so be sure to commit any important changes using the Save Layout command.

Click Layout > Revert Layout to revert any changes you made to the layout.