Resume Stopped or Interrupted Erase

Disk erase can be a time consuming task. Operations with larger disks (10TB+) being erased with sanitizing standards including several overwrite passes could last for hours. If something happened in a middle of erase (user stopped an action, failing disk just turned off, computer re-booted, etc.) user has options:
  • Start Erase for the disk all over again
  • Resume previous Erase from the point it stopped on a disk (time saving option)

After application start all detected disks being analyzed for previously interrupted erases, and if stopped/interrupted erases detected on one or more disks, Resume Erase button become active. Disks with an erase interrupted are marked with a red label Interrupted Erase

Note:

If disks with interrupted erase being detected after program start, pop up dialog appears automatically suggesting you to Resume Erase. You can run Resume Erase from here, or select the only disks you need later on.

To Resume Erase:

  1. Select a Disk or group of disks to Resume Erase for
  2. Click Resume Erase button on a toolbar

    Resume Erase Disk dialog appears. In the list will be displayed all disks where Resume Erase option is available. You can select more disks for resume erase (if any available) or deselect some selected disks

  3. Confirm Resume Erase action

    Verify selected disks, Certificate and Report options and click Start button to resume interrupted erase and wait until erase is complete

When resumed erase is completed user is able to review results (logs, processing reports and attributes) for processed disks and print Certificates and Disk Labels.