Disk Erase

KillDisk is an extremely powerful tool for disk erasure. Individual disks can be erased according to any desired standard with just a few clicks. The process is described below.

  1. Select disks for erasure

    Use Disk Explorer to select one or more physical disks or logical volumes. For multiple selection use Ctrl+Left Mouse click

  2. Open Disk Erase dialog using one of the following methods:
    • Click Erase Disk command on the action toolbar
    • Click Actions > Erase Disk command from main menu
    • Click Erase Disk command from context menu
    Figure 1: Initiating the Erase operation
  3. Confirm erasure options

    Disk Erase options dialog pops up:

    Figure 2: Disk Erase Options

    Use tabbed Views to adjust disk erasure options if necessary. Options available are:

    If single disk is selected by Erase Disk command a disk area to be erased can be specified:

    Figure 3: Erase Disk - Area Selection
    Select all disk space
    Entire surface of the disk will be erased
    Select all volumes
    Select for erase the only disk space where the live volumes located
    Select all unallocated space
    Select for erase the only disk unallocated area (the space where no live volumes exist)
    Select exact disk area
    Allows you to use sliders on the visualization of your disk to select a particular range of sectors for erasure.

    You may also click on individual partitions and the selected partitions will be erased.

    Click Start button to go to the final confirmation dialog:

    Figure 4: Disk Erase Confirmation

    Click OK button to begin disk erase process.

  4. Observe erase process

    When the Erase Disk procedure begins you see the disk area representation as a progress bar as well as an erase method and its progress. The progress bar represents the percentage of disk space processed. As the procedure progresses the percentage increases and estimated time recalculated.

    User can Stop erase process at any time (via action toolbar, main menu or context menu) :

    After Erase is complete for the particular disk, its status is displayed:
    Figure 5: Erase Completed
When erase is completed user is able to review results (logs, processing reports and attributes), print Erase Certificates and Disk Labels for processed disks.
Figure 6: Disk Erase Summary